Scholarship Application Information

Deadline:  Annually in March

The East Bay Association for Women in Science (ebAWIS) awards several $1,000 scholarships.  The scholarships are designed to encourage re-entry women to complete science studies at College of Alameda, Contra Costa College, Diablo Valley College, Laney College, Merritt College or Berkeley City College.

The scholarships of $1,000 will enable students to complete the second year of a community college science program.  Students may receive the scholarship only once.  Award recipients will be notified by email by early April.  Awardees will be honored at the AWIS Awards Banquet in April or May, specific date to be provided to award recipients.

  • Kathleen L. Miller, Ph.D. Scholarship:   Created in 1996, the Kathleen L. Miller, Ph. D. Memorial Scholarship is  generously endowed by Mrs. Arlene Miller, Kathleen’s mother, in loving memory of her daughter, the chapter’s first events coordinator.
  • Lorraine McCormick Memorial Scholarship:    Established in 2004 by Sheila McCormick, Ph.D., an AWIS member and recipient of the 2002 Judith Pool Award. The award is in honor of Dr. McCormick’s mother, Lorraine, who never had the chance to go to college although she received a scholarship in 1931 after graduating from high school. Despite the financial assistance of the scholarship, the money was not enough to fund college.

Before applying please contact  ebAWIS.scholarship.committee*  at * with your intent to apply and any questions.

Congratulations to the 2016-2017 Awardees:

Hena Khairzadah  (Kathleen Miller Scholarship)
Allison Jones  (Lorraine McCormick Scholarship)